There is much to be found on the internet when it comes to gardening and plants. We have compiled a list of some of our favorite links out there.

We are not responsible for the accuracy of information provided by outside sites. Please use advice at your own discretion. 

 

Botanic Gardens

Chicago Botanic Garden www.chicagobotanic.org

The Morton Arboretum www.mortonarb.org

Garfield Park Conservatory www.garfield-conservatory.org

Missouri Botanic Garden www.mobot.org
 

Extension Sites

U of IL Extension www.extension.uiuc.edu

Illinois Master Gardeners www.extension.uiuc.edu/mg

Wisconsin Extension www.uwex.edu
 

General Horticulture

U of I Hort Corner www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/hort/index.html

Ask an Expert  http://www.ppdl.purdue.edu/ppdl/ask_expert.html

Plants for Wet Sites www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/hil-646.html

Gardenweb Forums www.gardenweb.com

Horticulture Links www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/consumer/hortinternet/

USDA Hardiness Zone Map www.usna.usda.gov/Hardzone

 

Plant Databases

Illinois Best Plants http://www.bestplants.org/toc.htm

Perennial Plant Association www.perennialplant.org

Ohio State Plant Facts http://plantfacts.osu.edu/

Upper Midwest Plants www.midwestlandscapeplants.org/index.cfm

UI Plants: Woody Ornamentals http://wp.nres.uiuc.edu/plant/

National Plant Database http://plants.usda.gov

VA Tech: Woody Plant Key www.cnr.vt.edu/dendro/dendrology/idit.htm

 

Houseplants

Houseplant Pests  http://www.guide-to-houseplants.com/pests-and-diseases.html

Purdue Houseplant Problems www.ces.purdue.edu/extmedia/BP/BP-55.html

Guide to Houseplants  www.guide-to-houseplants.com/pests-and-diseases.html

Carniverous Plant Society www.carnivorousplants.org

 

Weeds

Rutgers Weed Images www.rce.rutgers.edu/weeds/default.asp

Garden Country Weeds www.gardencountry.com/pages/weeds/weedchart.html

Lawn

U of I Lawn Talk www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/lawntalk/index.html

 

Insects/Diseases

Illinois Integrated Pest Mgmt.  http://ipm.illinois.edu/

Focus on Plant Diseases www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/focus/

U of I Bug Review www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/bugreview/index.html

Iowa State Entomology www.ent.iastate.edu/

 

Newsletters

Home, Yard & Garden Pest www.ag.uiuc.edu/cespubs/hyg/html

Morton Plant Health Report  www.mortonarb.org/tree-plant-advice/category/97/plant-health-care-reports.html

Poisonous Plant Databases

FDA Poisonous Plant Database www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/plantox/index.cfm

Colorado University Poisonous Plants www.vth.colostate.edu/poisonous_plants/

Plants Poisonous to Animals  www.aspca.org/pet-care/poison-control/plants/

 

Prairie

Tallgrass Prairie in Illinois www.inhs.uiuc.edu/-kenr/tallgrass.html\

 

Gardening for Kids

Kids Gardening www.kidsgardening.com

U of I: Great Plant Escape www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/gpe/index.html


Catalog

Cyndi's Garden Catalogs List www.gardenlist.com/
 

Arborists

National Arborist Association  www.natlarb.com

International Society of Arboriculture www.treesargood.com/

 

Search Engine

Google www.google.com

Helpful Tips ? To search for pictures of plants on Google, click the images tab and then type the name of the plant. To confine a search to addresses from universities or organizations, add site:.org to the search.